Academy for Excellence in Health Research

The Academy for Excellence in Health Research serves as the highest recognition of excellence in health science research by a full time faculty member at the University of Minnesota.

Those selected have demonstrated excellence in research as measured by impact in basic and/or applied health science at the lab, clinic, school, community, and/or population level. All members of the Academy also have demonstrated the highest level of ethics and professionalism during their career.

Since 2003, 42 faculty from the disciplines of medicine, public health, dentistry, pharmacy, and nursing have been inducted into the Academy for Excellence in Health Research. Learn more about our amazing faculty below:

2019 Inductee

  • Jerrold Vitek, MD, PhD, Professor and Chair, Department of Neurology

2018 Inductee

2017 Inductees

2016 Inductees

  • Reuben Harris, Ph.D., Professor, Medical School
  • Dorothy Hatsukami, Ph.D., Professor, Medical School, Associate Director, Cancer Prevention and Control, Masonic Cancer Center
  • Jakub Tolar, M.D., Ph.D., Executive Vice Dean, Medical School, Distinguished McKnight Professor, Medical School, Director, Stem Cell Institute

2015 Inductees

2014 Inductees

2013 Inductees

2012 Inductees

2011 Inductees

2010 Inductees

2009 Inductees

2008 Inductees

2007 Inductees

2006 Inductees

2005 Inductees

2004 Inductees

2003 Inductees